grilled basa fish tacos

17 Mar

I just got a brand new barbeque!  Unfortunately I’ve been terrified of barbeques since my dad tried to teach me how to use one many years ago.  All I remember from that ordeal is “blah blah don’t turn this knob or everything will explode blah blah fire”.  Needless to say, I never got over it.

But I am going to overcome my fear!  Luckily these fish tacos are very easy to make. I managed to do it and I am SO PROUD of myself.  (Full disclosure, my boyfriend turned on the propane and lit the barbecue.  I still have some overcoming to do.)

I used Basa fillets because they’re one of the cheapest white fish I’ve found and they have much more flavour than some other options like Tilapia.  They are also much more firm than most white fish which makes them perfect for grilling, especially for a barbeque novice like myself.  Any flaky white fish (mahi-mahi, halibut etc.) will work.

$8 per 2 servings

Serves 4.

grilled basa fish tacos

adapted from Bon Appetit August, 2011

ingredients

lime crema

  • 1/4 c cream
  • 3 tbsp sour cream
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

tacos

  • 2 Basa fillets (or any firm, flaky white fish – mahi-mahi, halibut, tilapia, etc.)
  • 1 tbsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 16 corn tortillas
  • 2 c cabbage, shredded
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges
  • pico de gallo

preparation

lime crema

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl.

tacos

Lightly oil grill and heat to medium-high heat.

Mix onion powder, garlic powder, smoked paprika, salt, pepper and oil on a plate to form a loose paste.  Rub both sides of the fillets with spice paste.

Place fish on grill, cooking each side for about 3 minutes.  Remove from grill and use a fork to flake the fish into small pieces.

If you can get fresh corn tortillas, heat a skillet with some vegetable oil to medium-high heat and cook each tortilla for a few seconds on each side, until brown spots appear.

Serve tortillas warm.  Top each with shredded cabbage, diced avocado, fish, pico de gallo, crema and lime.

3 Responses to “grilled basa fish tacos”

  1. Charles common March 17, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    Love your blog and pics. Always looks delicious, keep it up

  2. Karen March 18, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    I can’t wait until I can start grilling this summer. I just made some tacos as well…pan sautéed the fish for mine. I’ll try grilling the fish this summer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. pico de gallo « foodmakestheman - March 17, 2012

    […] salsa to go with grilled basa fish tacos.  It’s also tasty on tortilla chips and even better mixed into […]

Leave a Reply

