cinnamon + sea salt chocolate chip cookies

5 Jun

I’m not really a sweet tooth kind of person.  I like desserts.  Even candy sometimes (especially these…), but sweet always takes a back seat to my unhealthy, artery hardening passion for salt.  I love it.  I really really love it.

I used to live down the street from Ezra’s Pound and on some lucky days when I went in to get my coffee they would have these chewy chocolate chip cookies dusted with cinnamon and sea salt.  Normally, I wouldn’t get excited about cookies but these were different.  These were salty.  And sweet.  And cinnamon-y.  And just wonderful.

I moved and now I make my coffee at home and after many cookieless months I realized I could probably make them for myself.  And so I did, and I think they turned out rather nicely.  I used a basic recipe from Gourmet, as I mentioned I’m not much of a cookie person so I don’t have my own favourite chocolate chip cookie recipe… but if you do, use it.

Just one last little thing.  I’m rambling a bit, I know…  Get some flaked sea salt – such as Maldon – if you can.  The texture is perfect for the cookies.  It can be a touch pricey but it’s worth it, great to have around for any dish where a good quality sea salt is called for.

Makes about 36 cookies

cinnamon + sea salt chocolate chip cookies

adapted from Gourmet, October 2003

ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsp cinnamon
  • 3 heaping tbsp flaked sea salt

preparation

Preheat oven to 375°F with a rack positioned in the middle.

Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl.

Beat together butter and sugars in a large bowl until pale and fluffy.  Beat in eggs one at a time until mixture is creamy.  Beat in vanilla.  Add flour mixture slowly and mix until just blended, then stir in chips.

Scoop 1 heaping tbsp of batter for each cookie and roll into a ball, arranging balls 3 inches apart on 2 baking sheets. Flatten mounds into 3-inch rounds using moistened palm of your hand.  Take a generous pinch of cinnamon (about 1 tbsp for each baking sheet) and dust over cookies lightly then sprinkle with a generous amount of flaked sea salt.

Bake, 1 sheet at a time, until golden, 10-11 minutes. Transfer cookies to a rack to cool and continue making cookies in same manner until batter is used up.

2 Responses to “cinnamon + sea salt chocolate chip cookies”

  1. Alicia June 5, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    These sound and look great. I love the salt with sweet flavor too – and I’ve always told people I have a “salt tooth”.

Leave a Reply

